Founded in 1995 by cellist Anton Lukoszevieze, Apartment House is a flexible British ensemble whose performances include avant-garde and experimental music from around the world.

Apartment House are a regular feature on the European music scene as well making appearances in the USA, Russia and Australia. Apartment House’s performances have included many UK and world premieres of music by a wide variety of composers. Notable portrait events have featured composers Christian Wolff, Jobina Tinnemans, Luc Ferrari, Vitalija Glovackyte, Christopher Fox, Laurence Crane, Helmut Oehring, Clarence Barlow, and Richard Ayres.

In 2012 they received the Royal Philharmonic Society Award for Chamber Music.

Their recordings and videos have been released on LMIC (George Maciunas’ Musical Scoring Systems), Another Timbre (Laurence Crane’s chamber works), Mere Records (Jennifer Walshe’s XXX Live_Nude_Girls!), Cold Blue Music (Peter Garland’s string quartets) and Matchless Recordings (Cornelius Cardew’s chamber music).

Apartment House performances combine radical elements of avant-garde, experimental music with anarchic joy and a flexible approach to instrumentation that allows for a vast range of possibilities.

Apartment House is named after a piece by the composer John Cage that he composed for the bicentenary of the USA in 1976. At its first performance in New York, hundreds of audience members walked out of the performance.

About this Contributor

Contributor type
Minutes created
Collection 2 #17, Collection 2 #32

Minutes by Apartment House