Sarah Lianne Lewis is a Welsh composer, based in the Vale of Glamorgan.

 Her music explores semi-improvisatory gestures within larger ensembles, and the dialogue that this creates between composer and performer. She investigates improvisatory techniques, and the blurring of acoustic and electronic sound. Inspiration is also found in poetry, as reflected by many of the titles of her works.

Lianne Lewis’ music has been described as “quiet and delicate” (Matthias Roth, Rhein-Neckar-Zeitung, 2016), “full of imaginative sonorities” (Steph Power, Wales Arts Review, 2016), with “pristine dissonance and eerie ambience” (Weeping Tudor Productions, 2018).

She studied at Cardiff University between 2006 and 2011, gaining a BA (Hons) in Music & History, and an MMus in Composition. The BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Quatuor Bozzini, JACK Quartet, and Sarah Maria Sun have performed her music, which has also been featured in numerous European music festivals.

About this Contributor

Given name
Family name
Lianne Lewis
Contributor type
Minutes created
GRC4 #9

Minutes by Sarah Lianne Lewis